Battery backup for a WiFi router: power stations.
A power station holds enough energy to run a router and modem for many hours, and it states that energy in watt-hours.
For a 15 W load the 3 below are estimated at about 15–16 hours. Estimate from a formula, not a test.
Check the maker's page for whether the unit keeps supplying power while it is being charged from the wall, since not all do.
How long will it run? Estimate, not a test
Hours ≈ battery Wh × efficiency ÷ total watts. The watts below are typical examples, not facts about your gear: read the label on your router's and modem's power adapters.
Power stations from the maker's page
| Product | Type | Capacity | AC outlets | USB / DC ports | Weight | Warranty | Estimated runtime 15 W example load |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jackery Explorer 300D | Power station | 288 Wh | Not published | 12 V DC output (10 A max) and USB-C ports | 5.51 lb | 3+2 years, at jackery.com | about 16.3 h |
| EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus | Power station | 286 Wh | 3 | 2 USB-A, 1 USB-C | 10.4 lb | Not published | about 16.2 h |
| Jackery Explorer 240 v2 | Power station | 256 Wh | Not published | 2 USB-C, plus USB-A and a 12 V car port | 7.94 lb | 3 years, plus 2 years extended if bought on jackery.com | about 14.5 h |
Ordered by watt-hours, largest first: a spec order, not a quality ranking. "Not published" means the maker's page did not state it. Read .
Prefer a plug-in unit that switches over by itself? See UPS for a router and modem.
How the runtime estimate works
- Hours ≈ battery Wh × 85% ÷ total watts. The 85% is an assumption for power lost in the inverter or converter, not a measured figure.
- The example load of 15 W is 10 W for a router and 5 W for a modem. These are typical examples, not facts about any product.
- Real runtime is shorter when the battery is old or cold, and a UPS or inverter uses some power just by being on.
- Watt-hours = volts × amp-hours. A UPS page that lists only VA gives no runtime; a lead-acid UPS also should not be run to empty.
Sources and quotes
- Jackery Explorer 300D · maker's page
- Type:
Jackery Explorer 300D Portable Power Station
read 2026-10-19 - Capacity:
Capacity 15Ah / 19.2V DC (288Wh)
read 2026-10-19 - Battery:
Cell Chemistry LiFePO₄
read 2026-10-19 - USB / DC ports:
DC Output 12V=10A Max USB-C Output C1:140W Max, 5V=3A
read 2026-10-19 - Weight (lb):
Weight About 5.51 lbs/2.5 kg
read 2026-10-19 - Warranty:
3+2 Years Warranty at jackery.com
read 2026-10-19 - EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus · maker's page
- Type:
EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus Portable Power Station
read 2026-10-19 - Capacity:
Capacity 286Wh
read 2026-10-19 - Rated output (W):
AC Output 3 outlets, 600W total
read 2026-10-19 - Battery:
Battery Chemistry LiFePO4
read 2026-10-19 - AC outlets:
AC Output 3 outlets, 600W total
read 2026-10-19 - USB / DC ports:
USB-A Output 2 ports, 5V=2.4A, 12W max per port, total 24W USB-C Output 1 port
read 2026-10-19 - Weight (lb):
Net Weight 10.4 lb
read 2026-10-19 - Jackery Explorer 240 v2 · maker's page
- Type:
Jackery Explorer 240 v2 Portable Power Station
read 2026-10-19 - Capacity:
Capacity: 20Ah/12.8V DC (256 Wh)
read 2026-10-19 - Rated output (W):
AC Total Output: 300W Rated, 600W Surge peak
read 2026-10-19 - Battery:
Cell Chemistry: LiFePO4
read 2026-10-19 - USB / DC ports:
USB-C Output: (1x) 15W Max, 5V⎓3A Max (1x) 100W Max, 5V⎓3A, 9V⎓3A
read 2026-10-19 - Weight (lb):
Weight: 7.94 Ibs (3.6 kg)
read 2026-10-19 - Warranty:
3-year warranty + 2-year extended warranty (applied automatically if purchased from our official website
read 2026-10-19
How we check
- A product is listed only when its type and capacity, and most of its outlets, ports, weight and warranty, each have a quote that appears word for word on the maker's own page, read within the last 30 days.
- Anything the page does not state shows "Not published". Nothing is filled from memory.
- No prices are shown. Pages we could not read, such as CyberPower and Tripp Lite, and the Anker SOLIX C300 DC (its page lacks weight, outlets and warranty), are left out rather than guessed.
- No mini DC UPS (12 V, for routers and ONTs) is listed yet: none had a maker's spec page we could verify.